fudogblog

Fu Dog – almost

In Gallery Images postings, Home Page posts on August 15, 2009 at 9:41 pm

I‘ve looked at a lot of Fu Dogs – are you kidding me? – I‘ve never seen another one quite like this one. I bought it from an antique store some years back. It doesn’t have the traditional Fu Dog appearance, and yet it does – and yet you’ll see that it doesn’t . There is just the one, it has a cub. I don’t think, however, that the Fu Dog is a female… In a way it is like a bacchanal figure, celebrating wine. And yet, it has the Fu Dog appearance, slightly, in that it is a doggish animal on a pedestal. There is also a ribbon-esque effect of the ‘fabric’ held in its ‘paws’. I was entranced when I saw it and purchased it the same day (a strange impulse to be certain – I normally don’t buy anything on the first day). I’ve not seen a base treatment like this one either – I can’t make out the imagery since it is glazed and all the details have ‘disappeared’ underneath the thickness of the glaze. Overall a piece I like alot. If it is truly a Fu Dog, or a Guardian Lion, is debatable. Please enjoy!

 

IMG_3103 IMG_3104 IMG_3105 IMG_3106 IMG_3107 IMG_3108 IMG_3109 IMG_3110 IMG_3111 IMG_3119 IMG_3122 IMG_3123 IMG_3128 IMG_3129 IMG_3130 IMG_3131

  1. hm… actually it seems either tibetan or Mongolian. and honestly if so.. it’s a depition of a Tsam buddhist god. I believe with the fushi/ snow lions/ lion dogs its probably Sendom. Look it up.. you may find it to be quite your cup of tea actually if you like the look of this sort of style. alot of tibetan and mongol are like this.

  2. Thanks a lot!! I’m intrigued and will look it up!

Leave a Reply

